Adam Morgan was the only driver to take a hatrick of podiums during the race weekend held at Thruxton. Meanwhile Motorbase’s Andrew Jordan and Mat Jackson claimed one victory each. Experienced racers Matt Neal and Rob Collard both took a podium each and are now heading the championship standings on joint scores.

An action packed weekend of three races kept spectators entertained all throughout Sunday.  The biggest crowd Thruxton has ever seen watched the action unfold trackside with glorious weather. Morgan won the breaktaking opening race of the weekend after fighting his way through the battles to become the first driver to win two races during the 2016 season so far.

The race started in a hectic way and that was how the race went on.  This again was a slightly shortened race after it was cut down to twelve laps. In the beginning it looked to be Tom Ingram as the favourite to win however a battle commenced to get the slipstream into the first chicane. This left Ingram alongside Neal and Moffat. Three into one was never going to work, Moffat and Ingram were shuffled down the order after contact.

Josh Cook in his MG and Morgan in his Mercedes slotted through into second and third, whilst Ashley Sutton in the sister MG went off circuit during a battle with Ingram on lap two.

Matt Neal in his Halfords backed Civic led the race from Cook aboard the MG, Morgan and Moffat in their Mercedes’ and Ingram at the end of the second lap. Positions were changing at every corner throughout the laps. Morgan managed to fire past Cook as the duo entered the chicane, a few others managed to pass, this dropped Cook back down the order.

Adam Morgan chased down Neal and managed to perform a perfect move on the leader to take lead of the pack as they crossed the start/finish line at the start of lap five. Moffat managed to claw past Neal to make it a Mercedes one two on the road. However, it was not meant to be for Moffat as a puncture saw him forced out wide and drop down the order. Mat Jackson in the Motorbase run Ford Focus had a similar incident at the exact same time after his tyre exploded, leaving bodywork fragments scattered around the circuit.

The next time the leaders headed down Brooklands and up Woodham Hill Matt Neal’s Honda had picked up a puncture. Neal attempted to pull from the left of the circuit across to go into the pit lane after the chicane but clipped the rear of an unsighted Cook sending him spinning and hitting into Neal’s teammate Shedden. Jeff Smith and Jake Hill were also caught up in the carnage. With cars now being littered across the circuit the officials decided to terminate the race, so red flags were waved letting drivers know to head into the pit lane.

The race was classified at the end of lap eleven which left Morgan take the win followed by Ingram and Jordan’s Focus rounded out the podium finishers. Jordan then joined a list of seven different race winners from eight races after driving an amazing race in race two to take the victory.

Morgan had made a good getaway from pole position and he seemed to be coping well with the full weight of success ballast. When the second half of the race got underway, Jordan had been able to catch the Mercedes after Ingram was penalised for a jump start and given a drive through penalty. Due to Ingram getting the drive through it allowed Jordan to chase down the Mercedes in the lead.

Morgan led the race from Motorbase’s Jordan and they were followed by the trio of WSR cars of Rob Collard, Jack Goff and Sam Tordoff. On lap eleven Jordan managed to pass Morgan as he began struggling with the ballast. Morgan was shuffled down to third after Collard managed to pass too.

Gordon Shedden aboard the Halfords Yuasa Racing Civic Type R had managed to fight his way up from the back of the grid to be following the lead group of cars. Shedden caught both Goff and Tordoff and was able to slide his way past them both to take fourth.

The third win of the day went to Motorbase’s Mat Jackson in race three. By winning the race Jackson joined Morgan as the only two drivers to win two races each this season. Off the line Jackson’s Ford Focus fired past Welch’s Proton and was able to drive the race and end up taking the victory.

There were multiple incidents happening around the high speed circuit, Goff was running in second until Neal pushed his way past on lap eight. Then as the Honda of Shedden was attacking Goff the duo went through Church and the BMW locked up its rear wheels as they headed up to the chicane and the duo made contact. Shedden limped it over the start/finish line and retired the car whilst Goff was only able to secure an eighteenth place finish.

The final place on the podium went to the WIX backed driver Adam Morgan, making it a hatrick of podiums during the three BTCC races on Sunday. He crossed the line just 0.198 seconds ahead of Josh Cook and Ashley Sutton in their MG6s.

Rob Collard took sixth place aboard his BMW and is now joint at the head of the championship table along with Matt Neal. The top eight drivers in the championship are all covered by just twenty-one points. Adam Morgan, Mat Jackson, Gordon Shedden, Jack Goff, Sam Tordoff and Andrew Jordan are all in contention to win the title.

West Surrey Racing are now leading the Manufacturers’ championship ahead of Honda although Honda have kept their lead in the HiQ Teams’ championship. Adam Morgan left Thruxton leading the Independents’ Trophy for the drivers in the championship. Motorbase Performance have maintained their lead in the Independent Teams’ championship.

Ashley Sutton is currently leading the Jack Sears Trophy but Michael Epps had a massively impressive and potential proving weekend in his Toyota Avensis and has managed to close down the gap between himself and Sutton.

The next round of the championship will take place at Oulton Park, located in Cheshire, on the 4th/5th of June.

The Race One top ten are as follows:

  1. Adam MORGAN ~ WIX Racing~ 11 laps
  2. Tom INGRAM ~ Speedworks Motorsport ~ +3.310s
  3. Andrew JORDAN ~ Motorbase Performance ~ +3.820s
  4. Jeff SMITH ~ Eurotech Racing~ +5.115s
  5. Martin DEPPER ~ Eurotech Racing ~ +5.824s
  6. Robert COLLARD ~ Team JCT600 Racing with GardX ~ +6.464s
  7. Sam TORDOFF ~ Team JCT600 Racing with GardX ~ +8.179s
  8. Jack GOFF ~ Team IHG Rewards Club ~ +8.179s
  9. Daniel WELCH ~ Goodstone Racing~ +8.672s
  10. Jake HILL ~ RCIB Insurance Racing~ +8.809s

Race two top ten are as follows:

  1. Andrew JORDAN ~ Motorbase Performance ~ 12 laps
  2. Robert COLLARD ~ Team JCT600 Racing with GardX ~ +0.401s
  3. Adam MORGAN ~ WIX Racing~ 1.791s
  4. Gordon SHEDDEN ~ Halfords Yuasa Racing ~ +1.978s
  5. Jack GOFF ~ Team IHG Rewards Club ~ +2.786s
  6. Sam TORDOFF ~ Team JCT600 Racing with GardX ~ +3.017s
  7. Daniel LLOYD ~ Eurotech Racing ~ +10.738s
  8. Mat JACKSON ~ Motorbase Performance ~ +6.201s
  9. Daniel WELCH ~ Goodstone Racing~ +7.034s
  10. Rob AUSTIN ~ Handy Motorsport ~ +7.260s

Race three top ten are as follows:

  1. Mat JACKSON ~ Motorbase Performance ~ 12 laps
  2. Matt NEAL ~ Halfords Yuasa Racing ~ +256s
  3. Adam MORGAN ~ WIX Racing~ +4.568s
  4. Josh COOK ~ MG Racing RCIB Insurance ~ +4.766s
  5. Ashley SUTTON ~ MG Racing RCIB Insurance ~ +5.006s
  6. Robert COLLARD ~ Team JCT600 Racing with GardX ~ +5.460s
  7. Rob AUSTIN ~ Handy Motorsport ~ +6.082s
  8. Sam TORDOFF ~ Team JCT600 Racing with GardX ~ +6.291s
  9. Daniel LLOYD ~ Eurotech Racing ~ +10.533s
  10. Michael EPPS ~ RCIB Insurance Racing ~ +11.333s

©Fay Tilley 12th May 2016.