Speedworks Motorsport’s driver Tom Ingram secured pole position at Thruxton, this was Ingram’s second pole position of the season. His lap time broke the qualifying lap record around the high speed circuit.

Ingram experienced a nerve-wracking start to the qualifying session as he had his first two flying laps removed by officials for not respecting the track limits around the circuit. Quite a few drivers were penalised throughout the session for cutting the final chicane in the early stages of the session.

Matt Neal headed to the Hampshire circuit in the lead of the championship, during the qualifying session he also had his lap time removed but went on to respond to the demotion by setting an impressive lap time in his ballasted up Honda Civic Type R. Neal held the provisional pole position until Ingram did an astonishing lap time, which broke the lap record around the circuit.

A flying Scotsman, Aiden Moffat, drove an amazing lap which put him onto the front row of the provisional grid. This demoted Neal to third. Most people would expect a ‘flying scotman’ to be reigning champion Gordon Shedden but on this occasion it was teenager Aiden Moffat wowing the crowds. The young scot driving for Laser Tools Racing starred during the practice sessions earlier in the day and managed to back up his stunning performance by nailing second during the qualifying session. This was Moffat’s best ever qualifying and proved just what the youngster is capable of.

Matt Neal parked his Honda Civic Type R in the pit lane long before the end of the qualifying session, he believed he had done the best he could in his ballast-laden car. Even after dropping to third at the end of the session Neal was pleased to have come in the top five and fought off another attack from MG’s young driver pairing.

MG’s Ashley Sutton and Josh Cook had proved what they were capable of by producing a front row lock out at Donington Park in the middle of April. Around the Thruxton circuit they qualified to start the first race from fourth and fifth on the grid, this time Cook was the faster of the teammates. The two drivers worked together to give each other a tow for most of the qualifying session which helped them to secure a top five finish for both of them.

Wix Racing’s Adam Morgan aboard the Mercedes A-Class showed what the car is capable of by finishing the session in sixth. Morgan knew the car was capable of more after his performances during the practice sessions earlier in the day but suffered a high speed crash during the first practice.

Eurotech Racing’ Jeff Smith finished within the top ten as he took seventh during the session. This is Smith’s first time qualifying in the top ten since Rockingham back in 2013. Smith in his Honda Civic Type R finished the session just 0.015 seconds behind Morgan. Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan was unable to match the pace he had shown in practice and finished the session in eighth place aboard his Ford Focus run by Motorbase Performance. Aron Smith for Team BKR finished in ninth place and Sam Tordoff rounded out the top ten in his Team JCT600 with GardX backed BMW.

The qualifying times were as follows:

  1. Tom Ingram ~ Speedworks Motorsport ~ 1:16.161s
  2. Aiden Moffat ~ Laser Tools Racing ~ +0.033s
  3. Matt Neal ~ Halfords Yuasa Racing ~ +0.086s
  4. Josh Cook ~ MG Racing RCIB Insurance ~ +0.416s
  5. Ashley Sutton ~ MG Racing RCIB Insurance ~ +0.566s
  6. Adam Morgan ~ WIX Racing ~ +0.650s
  7. Jeff Smith ~ Eurotech Racing ~ +0.665s
  8. Andrew Jordan ~ Motorbase Performance ~ +0.684s
  9. Aron Smith ~ Team BKR ~ +0.703s
  10. Sam Tordoff ~ Team JCT600 with GardX ~ +0.726s
  11. Gordon Shedden ~ Halfords Yuasa Racing ~ 0.772s
  12. Jack Goff ~ Team IHG Rewards Club ~ +0.828s
  13. Colin Turkington ~ Silverline Subaru BMR Racing ~ +0.928s
  14. Mat Jackson ~ Motorbase Performance ~ +0.951s
  15. Jake Hill ~ RCIB Insurance Racing ~ +1.076s
  16. Daniel Lloyd ~ Eurotech Racing ~ +1.091s
  17. Martin Depper ~ Eurotech Racing ~ +1.092s
  18. Rob Collard ~ Team JCT600 with GardX ~ +1.300s
  19. Hunter Abbott ~ Power Maxed Racing ~ +1.355s
  20. Daniel Welch ~ Goodstone Racing ~ +1.368s
  21. Jason Plato ~ Silverline Subaru BMR Racing ~ +1.483s
  22. Michael Epps ~ RCIB Insurance Racing ~ +1.515s
  23. Matt Simpson ~ Speedworks Motorsport ~ +1.536s
  24. Rob Austin ~ Handy Motorsport ~ +1.719s
  25. Ollie Jackson ~ AMD Tuning.com ~ +2.492s
  26. Alex Martin ~ Dextra Racing ~ 2.544s
  27. Kelvin Fletcher ~ Power Maxed Racing ~ +2.667s
  28. Warren Scott ~ Silverline Subaru BMR Racing ~ +2.718s
  29. James Cole ~ Silverline Subaru BMR Racing ~ +2.984s
  30. Mark Howard ~ Team BKR ~ +3.949s
  31. Stewart Lines ~ Maximum Motorsport ~ +4.455s
  32. Chris Smiley ~ TLC / RCIB Insurance Racing ~ NO TIME SET.

©Fay Tilley 12th May 2016.