Motorbase’s Andrew Jordan is the latest driver to be added to the list of seven different race winners from the first eight races of the British Touring Car Championship of the 2016 season. Jordan managed to secure the race win after driving a fantastic race and maintaining his tyres during the new race distance of twelve laps around the high speed circuit.

Ciceley Racing’s Adam Morgan managed to get a good getaway off the line after starting in pole position on the grid. He coped well with the maximum success ballast during the opening six laps of the race, but Jordan had managed to pass Ingram by the first corner. Ingram got even more bad luck as officials judged that he had jumped the start and gave him a drive through penalty. This forced him to drop right back down the order and out of the chance to claim victory. Adam Morgan in the WIX backed Mercedes A-Class lead Motorbase’s Andrew Jordan followed closely by the trio of WSR’s BMWs in the hands of Rob Collard, Jack Goff and Sam Tordoff.

On lap eleven Jordan managed to pass the Mercedes of Morgan after the latter had begun struggling with the success ballast weight. Adam Morgan was then shuffled down the order after Collard managed to pass in the Team JCT600 with GardX backed BMW. He still managed to fend off the trio of cars following him around the circuit.

Gordon Shedden aboard the Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R had managed to make his way up through the pack into the lead pack of cars during the last few laps of the race. Shedden started the race from the back of the grid after the incident he was caught up in during the opening race. Meanwhile Andrew Jordan was busy up ahead taking and maintaining the lead of the race. Shedden managed to pass Tordoff and Goff to slot into fourth place on the road.

At one stage during the race Eurotech Racing had all three drivers (Jeff Smith, Martin Depper and Daniel Lloyd) within the top ten. The two more experienced drivers would begin to suffer as Jeff Smith ran wide at a high speed which saw him leave the circuit. Meanwhile Martin Depper had to retire the car later on during the race. The team were happy as Daniel Lloyd had secured the Jack Sears honours in his second race for the team.

Mat Jackson in the Motorbase Performance run Ford Focus took eighth ahead of Dan Welch in the Goodstone backed Proton. This was Dan Welch’s best result since Silverstone in 2013. After the second race, the grid draw for race three took place and Welch was delighted to see his number pulled out for him to start race three from pole position. Rob Austin aboard the Handy Motorsport run Toyota Avensis rounded out the top ten finishers of the race. Matt Neal followed to secure eleventh and Josh Cook took twelfth after driving a fantastic recovery drive after starting from the back of the grid.

The finishers of the second race of the weekend are as follows:

  1. Andrew Jordan ~ Motorbase Performance
  2. Rob Collard ~ Team JCT600 with GardX
  3. Adam Morgan ~ WIX Racing
  4. Gordon Shedden ~ Halfords Yuasa Racing
  5. Jack Goff ~ Team IHG Rewards Club
  6. Sam Tordoff ~ Team JCT600 with GardX
  7. Daniel Lloyd ~ Eurotech Racing
  8. Mat Jackson ~ Motorbase Performance
  9. Daniel Welch ~ Goodstone Racing
  10. Rob Austin ~ Handy Motorsport
  11. Matt Neal ~ Halfords Yuasa Racing
  12. Josh Cook ~ MG Racing RCIB Insurance
  13. Matt Simpson ~ Speedworks Motorsport
  14. Michael Epps ~ RCIB Insurance Racing
  15. Ashley Sutton ~ MG Racing RCIB Insurance
  16. Aiden Moffat ~ Laser Tools Racing
  17. Jake Hill ~ RCIB Insurance Racing
  18. Aron Smith ~ Team BKR
  19. Alex Martin ~ Dextra Racing
  20. Tom Ingram ~ Speedworks Motorsport
  21. Ollie Jackson ~ AMD
  22. Chris Smiley ~ TLC Racing
  23. Kelvin Fletcher ~ Power Maxed Racing
  24. Stewart Lines ~ Maximum Motorsport
  25. Jeff Smith ~ Eurotech Racing
  26. Mark Howard ~ Team BKR
  27. Martin Depper ~ Eurotech Racing
  28. Hunter Abbott ~ Power Maxed Racing

© Fay Tilley 12th May 2016.