West Surrey Racing’s Sam Tordoff managed to claim victory in the second race of the weekend at Oulton Park. The BMW driver became the ninth different driver to win a race during the eleven races that have taken place so far this season. He got a perfect start and passed the pole positioned Colin Turkington and never looked back in his mirrors. The 2016 season so far has proved to be unpredictable as there has been so many surprises thrown in to each race over the weekends that nobody could predict what was going to happen.  After the race Tordoff was leading the drivers’ championship.

Colin Turkington and Jason Plato were squabbling over second for most of the race. Turkington claimed the place comfortably. The Subaru Levorgs have shown that they can be competitive and have been showing impressive form throughout the duration of the race weekend. The two drivers managed to bring the cars home to stand on the podiums in both of the races.

Gordon Shedden aboard the Halfords Yuasa backed Honda Civic Type R and Tom Ingram in the Speedworks Motorsport run Toyota Avensis brought their cars home in fourth and fifth.

The race began in a dramatic way with quite a few incidents occurring which lead to the safety car being deployed briefly. Aron Smith aboard the BKR run Volkswagen CC ran wide at Cascades during the opening lap of the race.

Shortly after Smith’s wide moment Rob Austin made contact with Jake Hill at the Island Hairpin, the knock on effect sent Hill into Mat Jackson’s Focus as he was charging through the grid to try and get a good result.

Most of the attention of fans was on Rob Collard as he was on a mission to have a better race than the first. After the restart the very experienced racer continued his fight up the pack after starting in twenty-third. He was up into the top ten, he managed to pass Goff and Lloyd. He then joined with Josh Cook and Matt Neal in a three way fight for sixth place.

Cook and Neal went side-by-side and ended up making contact as they entered Knickerbrook, both drivers were able to continue with only minor cosmetic damage occurring from the incident.

Collard passed Neal on lap ten of the race and then managed to pass Cook on lap twelve.  The BMW driver ran wide at the exit of Old Hall, returning to the track just ahead of Cook and the two made contact – this ended Collard’s race as he had to limp the car back to the pit lane with broken rear suspension on the right hand side of the car.

Josh Cook managed to maintain and keep his MG ahead of Neal’s Honda to take sixth place with the latter finishing in seventh. Andrew Jordan managed to pass the BMW of Jack Goff to take eighth with Goff taking ninth. Rounding out the top ten was Mat Jackson after driving a fantastic recovery drive after enduring his own eventful race.

Next up in eleventh place was Power Maxed Racing’s Hunter Abbott, twelfth went to Adam Morgan aboard his WIX Racing Mercedes. In his fifth race so far in a BTCC car was Daniel Lloyd taking thirteenth followed by Martin Depper in fourteenth. Next across the line was Jeff Smith in fifteenth followed closely by RCIB Insurance Racing’s Michael Epps who had started the race from twenty-fifth but had managed to fight his way through to sixteenth around  the narrow twisty circuit. Seventeenth went to Aron Smith in his Team BKR run VW CC. Eighteenth was the last Subaru Levorg to finish the race in the hands of Warren Scott with Alex Martin coming home in nineteenth. Rounding out the top twenty was Ollie Jackson in his AmD Tuning.com Audi.

Twenty first went to Stewart Lines in his Maximum Motorsport liveried Ford Focus with TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing’s Chris Smiley coming home in twenty-second. The final five finishers of the race were: Kelvin Fletcher in twenty third, Daniel Welch in twenty fourth, Rob Collard in twenty fifth, Jake Hill in twenty sixth and finally Ashley Sutton aboard his MG6 in twenty seventh.

There were different reasons that caused five drivers to end the race with a DNF, the drivers were: Matt Simpson, Mark Howard, Rob Austin, James Cole and Aiden Moffat.


©Fay Tilley 5th June 2016.