Mike Bushell lead home a Team Pyro one-two-three in the second free practice session for the Renault UK Clio Cup at Croft. Second was David Dickenson with Senna Proctor in third to lock out the first three positions on the live timing screens. Bushell was the only driver who was able to get into the lap times of 1:31 after the 2014 champion set a 1:31.710. Second placed Dickenson was just 0.307 seconds behind Bushell with their teammate Senna Proctor back in third but only 0.207 seconds behind Dickenson. All three of the Team Pyro drivers set their fastest lap times late in the session.

Paul Rivett was fourth with a gap of 0.037 seconds back from Senna Proctor. The 4Front Motor Group with WDE driver had been leading the times for the majority of the session before the Team Pyro trio topped the times. Next up in fifth was Cooksport driver Lee Pattison just 0.210 seconds behind Rivett. When times were combined the top five stayed as they finished in the second session. Sixth place in the session went to Josh Price who was just 0.105 seconds back from Lee Pattison. In seventh place was Cooksport’s Rory Collingbourne with a 0.094 seconds gap from Price with eighth place being taken by Max Coates in his Ciceley run car just 0.231 seconds off of Collingbourne’s time. Ninth place was JamSport’s Ant Whorton-Eales 0.172 seconds behind Coates. Rounding out the top ten on the timing screens was Finesse Motorsport’s Paul Streather who was just 0.001 seconds behind JamSports’ Whorton-Eales.

Eleventh place in the second session went to Daniel Rowbottom, just 0.129 seconds behind teammate Streather. Twelfth was Cooksport’s George Jackson 0.042 slower than Rowbottom with Ollie Pidgley in thirteenth, just 0.237 seconds behind Jackson. Next up was Dan Zelos, 0.285 seconds behind teammate Pidgley, Luke Kidsley was fifteenth but just 0.065 quicker than sixteenth placed Anton Spires aboard his Paint Perfect Motorsport run entered car. Seventeenth was Charlie Ladell with teammate Rory Green rounding out the eighteen competitors.


When the two sessions were combined the order was as follows:

  1. Mike Bushell
  2. David Dickenson
  3. Senna Proctor
  4. Paul Rivett
  5. Lee Pattison
  6. Rory Collingbourne
  7. Josh Price
  8. Paul Streather
  9. Daniel Rowbottom
  10. Max Coates
  11. Ant Whorton-Eales
  12. George Jackson
  13. Luke Kidsley
  14. Charlie Ladell
  15. Oliver Pidgley
  16. Dan Zelos
  17. Anton Spires
  18. Rory Green



©Fay Tilley 18th June 2016.

Sixth overall, relying on the time that put him fastest in this morning’s session, was Cooksport’s Rory Collingbourne (he was seventh in session two) and seventh Pyro’s Josh Price. Finesse’s Paul Streather and his Ecomotive-backed team-mate Daniel Rowbottom and then Ciceley’s Max Coates completed the top ten overall.

The second session was interrupted twice by red flag stoppages to recover the cars of WDE’s Rory Green and then PP Motorsport’s Anton Spires who both ran off the track at Clervaux Bend. Rivett, too, went off track there but was able to rejoin the circuit and make it back to pit lane.