Ollie Chadwick was able to enjoy another incredible start to the race weekend after he qualified to start the opening race from pole and then went on to claim the victory in race one. As the lights went out to start the opening race of the weekend Chadwick led into Clervaux for the first time. The championship leader was put under pressure by Robinson at the start of the race as well as the Hadfield brothers.  The R&J duo were soon running up front on track but Ryan picked up a ten second penalty for a false start which dropped him down to fourteenth despite being on the back of Chadwick. Ryan Hadfield and Ollie Chadwick managed to open up a gap over the chasing pack which meant that by the time they took the flag Ryan had a big enough gap to maintain his second place finish.

There was a fantastic battle for fourth place, Richardson had the advantage early on in the race but was soon under immense pressure from Hibbert, Chapman, Flowers and Zapolski as they all scrapped for fourth place. Jonathan Hadfield made a mistake at Sunny In/Out, dropping down to ninth and joining on in the scrap. The six drivers battling swapped positions with one another multiple times on most of the laps. Third place was claimed by AM driver Ian Robinson followed. Jonathan Hadfield fought his way back to take fourth place but lost his rear wing in the process, Nick Zapolski finished the race to take fifth with Andrew Richardson finishing sixth. Matt Chapman lost out when fighting for eighth after he ran wide at the Complex, he managed to recover to finish seventh. Matt Flowers finished the race in eighth with Tom Hibbert close behind in ninth with Glen Broster rounding out the top ten. Eleventh went to Dan Collison with Jac Constable in twelfth, thirteenth went to Matt Palmer despite him getting a five second penalty for exceeding track limits.

Steven Wells finished the race in fourteenth ahead of Mark Davenport in fifteenth and Alex Taylor in sixteenth. Seventeenth went to Alex Toth-Jones followed by Brayden Fletcher in eighteenth. Ashley Marshall took nineteenth with Jonny Greenwood in twentieth and Jose Ledesma in twenty-first. There were two non-finishers during the race, they were Steve Perez and Jack Minshaw.

©Fay Tilley 19th June 2016.