WDE Motorsport’s Paul Rivett took pole position for race one of the weekend during the Renault UK Clio Cup qualifying session with Team Pyro’s Mike Bushell taking pole for race two. This was Paul Rivett’s first pole position in the past twelve months. The time set by Rivett was a 1:31.458 which left him over a quarter of a second clear of the chasing drivers. The pack were a lot closer in the second fastest times with the top five separated by only four hundredth of a second. Bushell set the fastest second fastest lap time to claim his fifth pole position out of six races. Mike Bushell lines up third on the race one grid before taking to pole position for race two. Rivett starts race one from pole but goes back to third for race two.

In race one David Dickenson starts on the front row in second place with Josh Price taking second for the race two grid. Dickenson takes to fourth place on the grid for the second race. Lee Pattison starts race one from fourth with Charlie Ladell taking fifth and Josh Price rounding out the top six qualifiers. On row four of the grid for race one is Max Coates and Ant Whorton-Eales. Daniel Rowbottom and Senna Proctor occupy the fifth row for race one with Rory Green and Dan Zelos on the sixth row. On the seventh row of the grid its Rory Collingbourne and Paul Streather followed by Anton Spires and Ollie Pidgley on row eight. Rounding out the grid on the ninth row is Luke Kidsley and George Jackson.

For race two Max Coates starts from fifth with Senna Proctor alongside in sixth, seventh on the grid went to Lee Pattison with Charlie Ladell alongside for company. On row five of the grid for race two was Paul Streather and Rory Collingbourne followed by Ant Whorton-Eales and Daniel Rowbottom on row six. Row seven is occupied by Rory Green and Dan Zelos with Anton Spires and Luke Kidsley behind on row eight. The grid is finished by Ollie Pidgley and George Jackson on row nine. Jackson has to start from the rear of the grid for race two after having an early accident in the session which left him unable to set a representative lap time.


©Fay Tilley 19th June 2016.