Stuart Middleton reclaimed the lead of the Simpson Race Products Ginetta Junior championship after winning the opening race of the weekend after starting from pole position. At the start of the race Dave Wooder and Will Tregurtha made contact during the opening tour, Middleton lead the pack through Clervaux and into Hawthorns for the first time and Tregurtha received a tap on the rear of his car which sent him sideways along with Wooder and Seb Perez all losing momentum due to the incident.

This brought Seb Priaulx and Daniel Harper into the final two podium positions with Charlie Fagg following in fourth despite getting a slow start off the line. Newcomer Olli Caldwell moved into fifth place during his debut in the championship. After managing to get a gap to open up during the opening stage of the race Middleton was able to hold off Priaulx to claim his fourth victory of the season so far. Behind Priaulx was Daniel Harper, making sure he was constantly in Priaulx’s mirrors from the start until they took the flag. Priaulx drove an impressive race to take his best result during his rookie season so far, finishing second and taking top rookie honours. Harper bounced back after having a disastrous weekend at Oulton Park where his car set on fire during one of the races, he finished the opening race at Croft in third place overall and second rookie.

Charlie Fagg and Olli Caldwell ran together throughout the remainder of the race to finish in fourth and fifth with Cameron Roberts not far behind the two. Roberts finished sixth and also set the fastest lap of the race. Behind Roberts was the HHC teammates of Tom Gamble and Lewis Brown taking seventh and eighth after battling all throughout the race. Ninth place was taken by JHR driver Kyle Hornby with a nine car train battling for tenth place. Tregurtha drove an amazing recovery drive to take tenth after being sent sideways on the opening lap. Eleventh was taken by Elite Motorsport’s Harry King with JHR’s Geri Nicosia still battling mechanical gremlins to take twelfth.

Tregurtha was able to bag some vital championship points in tenth place. Thirteenth went to Enzo Fittipaldi with Max Bird took fourteenth. Harry King took fifteenth with Jordan Collard following to take sixteenth and Connor Grady taking seventeenth. A late spin for Seb Perez saw him finish the race down in eighteenth place with Greg Johnson rounding out the finishers in nineteenth. Dave Wooder saw his race ended when he had to pull of the circuit with a mechanical issue on the second lap of the race. American driver Dhyllan Skiba was another driver who had to retire from the race after completing just two laps.


©Fay Tilley 19th June 2016.