Motorbase’s Mat Jackson drove a very defensive but talent showing drive during the final British Touring Car Championship race at Knockhill in Scotland. He fended off a mix of cars to take his fourth win of the 2016 season so far.

Off the line it was Jackson leading the queue of cars including Rob Collard and Colin Turkington, who were in a closely fought battle. The battle turned nasty on lap eight as Turkington hit Collard’s BMW into a slide, as the latter straightened the car out there was further contact resulting in both cars being sent spinning around onto the grass and pretty much out of the race. This put Team JCT600 with GardX’s Sam Tordoff, Team BMR’s Jason Plato and Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden into the mix. This made it Ford versus BMW versus Subaru versus Honda. The four cars were unable to be separated through the race but nobody was able to pass the Focus of Jackson. When the four took the flag they were covered by just 1.2 seconds but it was Jackson who took the win. Sam Tordoff finished the race in second followed by Jason Plato in third. The Halfords Yuasa Racing pair of Gordon Shedden and Matt Neal finished in fourth and fifth. It was Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin who finished in sixth place. The Mercedes of Adam Morgan finished in seventh ahead of Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffat in eighth. Andrew Jordan finished in ninth aboard his Pirtek backed Focus with the IHG Rewards Club backed BMW of Jack Goff rounding out the top ten.

Eleventh place went to Power Maxed Racing’s Dave Newsham followed by Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram in twelfth. Silverline Subaru BMR Racing’s James Cole took thirteenth with Goodestone Racing’s Dan Welch in fourteenth. Jake Hill finished the race in fifteenth for the RCIB Insurance Racing team. Sixteenth was Eurotech Racing’s Martin Depper with Speedworks Motorsport’s Matt Simpson in seventeenth. Team BKR’s Aron Smith took eighteenth with’s Ollie Jackson in nineteenth. Michael Epps aboard the RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis rounded out the top twenty. In twenty-first was Dextra Racing’s Alex Martin followed by Maximum Motorsport’s Stewart Lines in twenty-second. Mark Howard finished in twenty-third for Team BKR with Silverline Subaru BMR Racing’s Colin Turkington finishing in twenty-fourth and teammate/team boss Warren Scott being the last classified racer in twenty-fifth.

There were five DNF’s during the race, which were; Power Maxed Racing’s Hunter Abbott, MG Racing RCIB Insurance’s duo of Josh Cook and Ashley Sutton, Team JCT600 with GardX’s Rob Collard and Eurotech Racing’s Jeff Smith.

©Fay Tilley 15th August 2016.