Team BMR’s Jason Plato celebrated his 500th race in the BTCC in his natural style, by taking a dominating lights to flag victory at Knockhill. This made Plato the eleventh different winner of races so far this season. The Silverline Subaru BMR Racing driver got a good start off the line and began building a strong lead over the first half of the opening race. He was then being chased by Jack Goff in the IHG Rewards Club BMW over the later part of the race. Plato also had to perfectly execute a safety car restart, he managed to hold on to take his ninty-fifth race win in the series.

The race started well with the top six drivers all running on the Dunlop SportMaxx soft tyre compound. Matt Neal aboard the Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic nudged Adam Morgan in the Mercedes, sending the latter into a spin and dropping down the order. Andrew Jordan and Colin Turkington swapped positions multiple times during the race. The two were fighting for fifth place. Turkington’s race was compromised by the move after it was visible that his Subaru Levorg was much quicker than Jordan in the Focus. The two ran alongside one another during lap eight of the race but Turkington was forced to wait until lap fourteen before he was able to cleanly pass Jordan to retake fifth.

Jack Goff passed his teammate Sam Tordoff and Tom Ingram, Goff was up to second as he started to cut down Plato’s lead. The safety car was deployed on lap twenty of the race after Dan Welch tipped Warren Scott into the gravel trap. The car was retrieved from the gravel trap by marshals and the race was quickly back underway. Plato managed to keep chasing down Plato in the final laps of the race but was unable to make a move for the lead.

The exciting part of the race came when Turkington passed Tordoff at the restart to take fourth and then passed Ingram to take third at the Hairpin on the penultimate lap of the race. He then chased down Goff to try and claim second but was unable to. Ingram took fourth with Sam Tordoff taking fifth and Jordan eventually claimed sixth as he crossed the line to take the flag. The impressive Dave Newsham finished the race in seventh, rewarding the Power Maxed Racing team with their best result of the season so far.

The Halfords Yuasa Racing pair of Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden finished the race in eighth and ninth. Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin rounded out the top ten finishers. Eleventh went to MG Racing RCIB Insurance’s Ashley Sutton followed by Motorbase’s Mat Jackson in twelfth. Thirteenth across the line was Aiden Moffat aboard the Laser Tools Racing Mercedes. Fourteenth went to Eurotech Racing’s Martin Depper with James Cole taking fifteenth aboard the Silverline Subaru BMW Racing. Jake Hill finished in sixteenth aboard the RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis. Seventeenth went to Team JCT600 with GardX’s Rob Collard. Josh Cook finished in eighteenth in his MG6 followed by Michael Epps in the second of the RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis. Power Maxed Racing’s Hunter Abbott finished the race in twentieth. Dan Welch brought his Goodestone Racing Proton home in twenty-first. Adam Morgan crossed the line in twenty-second with’s Ollie Jackson in twenty-third. Michael Caine finished the race in twenty-fourth with Stewart Lines bringing his Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus home in twenty-five. Mark Howard came home in twenty-sixth. Dextra Racing’s Alex Martin was one lap down in twenty-seventh.

There were four DNF’s for Jeff Smith, Warren Scott, Aron Smith and Matt Simpson.

©Fay Tilley 15th August 2016.