Ciceley Racing’s Max Coates and Team Pyro’s Mike Bushell have each taken a pole position for the two UK Clio Cup races this weekend at Silverstone. The half hour qualifying session started with a damp circuit but it continued to dry throughout the session making it difficult for drivers to judge. There were more than twenty changes for the top spot on the timing screens as the times began to tumble. It came down to who got their lap hooked up on the final few laps as conditions were at best during the final few minutes. Less than one second covered the top nineteen cars.

Coates managed to pull out an outstanding lap time of 1:04.804 to secure pole for the first of the two races of the weekend. This being Max Coates’ second pole position of the season, ending Mike Bushell’s recent run of five poles in a row. Bushell’s teammate Josh Price qualified in third. Title rival Ant Whorton-Eales finished the session in fourth for JamSport. Team Pyro’s David Dickenson starts race one from fifth with Paint Perfect Motorsport’s James Colburn starting sixth after stepping in to replace Anton Spires.  Seventh place on the race one grid was meant to be Ciceley’s Ollie Pidgley but he has a three place grid penalty dropping him to tenth. This puts JamSport’s Luke Kidsley into seventh with Team Cooksport’s Lee Pattison alongside after he also got a three place grid penalty, dropping him from fifth to eighth. Senna Proctor starts race one from ninth ahead of Oliver Pidgley. WDE Motorsport’s Paul Rivett starts from eleventh ahead of JamSport’s Chris Smiley. WDE Motorsport’s Charlie Ladell starts from thirteenth with Team Cooksport’s Rory Collingbourne alongside. Ben Davis qualified in fifteenth on his return to the championship for the Silverstone weekend. Finesse’s Jake Giddings will start in sixteenth ahead of Team Cooksport’s Shayne Deegan in seventeenth and Ciceley’s Dan Zelos in eighteenth. Nineteenth on the race one grid will be Paul Streather after being involved in a nasty incident at turn one yesterday in practice, he has now hired a car from 20Ten Racing to be able to compete this weekend. Team Cooksport’s George Jackson qualified in twentieth, rounding out the grid in twenty-first is JamSport’s Graham Field.

On their second fastest lap times, which set race two’s grid it’s Team Pyro’s Mike Bushell on pole position with JamSport’s Ant Whorton-Eales alongside. Ciceley’s Max Coates starts from third with Team Pyro’s Josh Price alongside. Team BMR/Team Pyro’s Senna Proctor starts from fifth with WDE Motorsport’s Paul Rivett alongside. JamSport’s Luke Kidsley starts race two from seventh ahead of Team Cooksport’s Lee Pattison. Chris Smiley starts in ninth ahead of Paint Perfect Motorsport’s James Colburn. Eleventh is Ciceley’s Oliver Pidgley ahead of Team Pyro’s David Dickenson. Thirteenth is Team Cooksport’s Rory Collingbourne ahead of WDE Motorsport’s Charlie Ladell. Fifteenth is Ben Davis ahead of Finesse’s Jake Giddings. Ciceley’s Dan Zelos starts seventeenth with Team Cooksport’s Shayne Deegan in eighteenth. Nineteenth is Finesse’s Paul Streather with Team Cooksport’s George Jackson in twentieth with Graham Field rounding out the grid in twenty-first.



©Fay Tilley 17th September 2016.