JHR Development’s Sebastain Priaulx topped the timing screens to take pole position for the opening race of the weekend at Silverstone. Priaulx has made it two pole positions in the last three qualifying sessions after he qualified on pole at Knockhill and now again at Silverstone. The weather played a key part in the penultimate qualifying session of the Simpson Race Products Ginetta Junior Championship season. The track began to dry during the session, it all came down to the final few minutes at the ‘Home of British Motorsport’ circuit.

JHR’s Seb Perez was the first driver to storm up onto pole position by half a second, next time around crossing the line it was teammate Sebastian Priaulx who improved by four tenths, putting together a lap time of 1:15.693. The advantage was halved by TCR’s Dave Wooder, who went on to qualify second. This being Wooder’s first front row start since Oulton Park back in June. Seb Perez was bumped down to third, which is where he finished the session. HHC’s Will Tregurtha qualified in fourth whilst his championship rival Stuart Middleton was only able to qualify in ninth for Douglas Motorsport. There were three HHC Motorsport cars within the top seven as Charlie Fagg and Lewis Brown finished the session in fifth and seventh. Sixth place went to Douglas Motorsport’s Daniel Harper

One of the stand out performances of the qualifying session was that of JHR Development’s Harry Dyson, he qualified in eighth place on his debut weekend in the championship.

Tenth place during the session was JHR Development’s Geri Nicosia. Lower than he had hoped for was Elite Motorsport’s Harry King down in eleventh after topping the practice timing sheets yesterday. His teammate Tom Wood finished the session in sixteenth. Twelfth place went to JHR Development’s Kyle Hornby with teammate Olli Caldwell in thirteenth. TCR’s Jordan Collard qualified in fourteenth ahead of HHC Motorsport’s Charlie Digby in fifteenth. TCR’s Connor Grady qualified in sixteenth. Rob Boston Racing’s Greg Johnson finished the qualifying session in seventeenth with JHR Development’s Jenson Dineen finishing in eighteenth. Mectech’s Anthony Ayres finished the qualifying session in nineteenth.


©Fay Tilley 17th September 2016.