Pirtek backed racer Andrew Jordan kept his championship fight alive by storming to victory in race two after fending off Tom Ingram and Adam Morgan during the encounter. He started on the front row alongside Ingram and kept on the tail of the Toyota before he lunged down the inside heading into the Becketts hairpin on lap seven.

Adam Morgan passed Ingram as the latter’s pace faded during the race but the Mercedes driver was unable to trouble Jordan for the win. Morgan brought his Mercedes home in a comfortable second place ahead of a delighted Ingram. The Subaru Levorgs in the hands of Colin Turkington and Jason Plato followed Ingram across the line to take fourth and fifth. Mat Jackson brought his newly liveried Focus home in sixth place after fighting through from seventeenth. Rob Collard finished in seventh with Gordon Shedden pressuring him for the majority of the race. Shedden was then drawn to start the reversed grid race from pole position. Aiden Moffat finished in ninth ahead of Power Maxed’s Hunter Abbott in tenth. Championship leader Sam Tordoff finished the race in eleventh ahead of Michael Epps in twelfth and Jack Goff in thirteenth. Dan Welch finished in fourteenth aboard his Goodestone Racing Proton. Matt Neal finished in fifteenth ahead of AmDTuning.com’s Ollie Jackson in sixteenth and MG’s Josh Cook in seventeenth. Eighteenth went to Martin Depper followed by Stewart Lines in nineteenth. Alex Martin rounded out the top twenty finishers. Twenty-first was Tony Gilham followed by Kelvin Fletcher in twenty-second and James Cole in twenty-third. Team BKR’s Aron Smith finished the race in twenty-fourth ahead of Eurotech’s Jeff Smith in twenty-fifth and MG’s Ashley Sutton in twenty-sixth. The three drivers rounding out the finishers were Jake Hill in twenty-seventh, Mark Howard in twenty-eighth and Warren Scott in twenty-ninth.

The two drivers to not finish the race was Speedworks Motorsport’s Matt Simpson and Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin.


©Fay Tilley 18th September 2016.