Rob Boston Racing’s Tom Wrigley has been crowned champion of the 2016 Michelin Ginetta GT4 Supercup after following home title rival Will Burns to take third place in the final race of the season. In the same race as Wrigley clinching the title Carl Boardley dominated to take the victory during the nail biting conclusion to the season.

After getting a good launch off the line Boardley jumped past Mitchell and lead the race until the flag. Burns and Wrigley both made quick progressions through the field from fifth and seventh on the grid. Both drivers passed Gaffney and Somerfield during the opening two laps. This placed the championship contenders inside the top four before a brief safety car period after Jamie Stanley was spun into the gravel trap at Paddock Hill Bend after receiving avoidable contact from Callum Pointon.

As soon as the race was restarted the battle between the two contenders heated up as Wrigley put Burns under immense pressure whilst Burns was attempting to find a way past Mitchell. The battle went down to the final lap of the race with Burns making a risky move down the inside of Mitchell as they headed into Paddock Hill Bend. Realising he may lose his title Wrigley stormed down the inside behind Burns and ran side by side with Mitchell through Druids before making the move stick. Burns put in his best effort to stop Wrigley taking the title by slowing Wrigley into Mitchell’s clutches. Wrigley defended from Mitchell and secured the championship at the flag.

Boardley opened up a 5.2 seconds lead as he took the victory. Burns finished the race in second ahead of Wrigley in third and Mitchell in fourth. Somerfield ran in fifth throughout the race. Mark Davies climbed to sixth before contact with Ben Green ended his race. This opened the door for Pointon to take sixth ahead of Green in seventh and Gaffney in eighth. Series debutant Jack Bartholomew finished in ninth place after fighting back from a disastrous second race of the weekend. Only twelve drivers managed to make it to take the chequered flag. In the AM class it was Colin White taking the win and tenth overall ahead of Grahame Tilley in second and eleventh overall with Fraser Robertson finishing third in class and twelfth overall.


©Fay Tilley 5th October 2016.