JHR Developments’ Seb Priaulx has been crowned the champion of the 2016 Ginetta Junior Winter Series after showing a dominating performance, the youngster qualified on pole and then took both race wins. He started from pole position and was very aware that he needed to finish ahead of rival Dave Wooder. Priaulx got a perfect start and led the pack of cars into Paddock Hill Bend for the first time.

Douglas Motorsport’s Daniel Harper headed the chasing pack during the early stage of the race. the battle began getting intense which allowed Priaulx to pull a 3.4 second lead when he took the flag. Harper lost out on second when he suffered a problem when trying to change gears as he headed into Paddock Hill Bend, this dropping him to fourth. He finished the race in fourth.

The driver benefitting from Harper’s problems was Dave Wooder, he needed to chase down and pass Priaulx to take the title but was instead having to defend from JHR’s Tom Gamble. The positions changed hands on lap seven after Gamble dived down the inside as they headed into McLaren. This saw Gamble take his best finishing position within the Ginetta Junior Championship since he joined. Dave Wooder finished the race in third. On the road Charlie Fagg finished in fourth but was demoted to sixth after receiving a post-race time penalty. Harry King finished in fifth on the road but was promoted to fourth.

JHR’s Harry Dyson finished off an impressive weekend by finishing in seventh place, also being the highest rookie. This ensures Dyson leaves Brands Hatch with the Rookie Cup Winter Series championship title. Connor Grady finished in eighth ahead of Jordan Collard, who fought back to ninth after slipping to twelfth after going wide at Paddock Hill Bend and going through the gravel trap. Charlie Digby rounded out the top ten with Morgan Quinn following in eleventh. The latter survived some early drama during the race when Ruben Del Sarte and Katie Milner made contact, forcing the latter into retirement on her debut weekend in a G40.


©Fay Tilley 13th November 2016.