Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden took the win in the final race of the weekend at Oulton Park, located in Cheshire. He led home a team 1-2 with teammate Matt Neal. The win was not without contact as he made contact with pole sitter Josh Cook aboard the Maximum Motorsport with Team Parker Ford Focus. The contact resulted in broken rear suspension for the independents team- straight away putting him out of the race.

BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan had taken the lead off the line from Cook and began opening a gap. Shedden made his move for the lead as he slid his way past Jordan at Cascades following a short safety car period mid race. Matt Neal immediately followed his teammate and got ahead of Jordan, the top three remained unchanged for the remainder of the race.

Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s Ashley Sutton defended his positions valiantly to claim fourth. The youngster fended off the Team BMW duo of Colin Turkington and Rob Collard . Turkington had fought his way through the order all day after electrical issues ended his race one early. In race two he took thirteenth from the back of the grid. Turkington made a number of brilliant moves in the final race to take a well earnt fifth place finish ahead of teammate Collard in sixth.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin secured seventh ahead of Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing’s Michael Epps and TAG Racing’s Jake Hill in eighth and ninth respectively. Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo drove brilliantly to finish the final race of the weekend in a well earnt tenth place. The tenth plcae finish also earnt him his first Jack Sears Trophy win.

A number of cars were involved in various incidents throughout the hectic final race.  Aiden Moffat in his Mercedes A-Class after an incident with Dave Newsham’s Chevrolet Cruze brought out the previously mentioned safety car.

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 12 – Oulton Park

1 Gordon SHEDDEN – Halfords Yuasa Racing – +18 laps
Matt NEAL – Halfords Yuasa Racing – +0.279s
Andrew JORDAN – BMW Pirtek Racing – +1.722s
Ashley SUTTON – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing – +4.272s
5 Colin TURKINGTON – Team BMW – +4.375s
6 Rob COLLARD – Team BMW – +4.590s
Rob AUSTIN – Handy Motorsport – +5.509s
8 Michael EPPS – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing – +7.045s
9 Jake HILL – TAG Racing – +8.418s
10 Luke DAVENPORT – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo – +8.736s
11 Jason PLATO – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing – +9.077s
12 Daniel LLOYD – MG Racing RCIB Insurance – +9.414s
13 Dave NEWSHAM – BTC Norlin Racing – +9.789s
14 Matt SIMPSON – Simpson Racing – +10.248s
15 Jack GOFF – Eurotech Racing – +10.605s
16 Senna PROCTOR – Power Maxed Racing – +11.412s
17 Stephen JELLEY – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport – +12.041s
18 Ollie JACKSON – AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts – +12.099s
19 Tom CHILTON – Power Maxed Racing – +12.505s
20 Chris SMILEY – BTC Norlin Racing – +13.958s
21 Ant WHORTON-EALES – AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts – +15.882s
22 Will BURNS – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing – +16.766s
23 Martin DEPPER – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo – +19.397s
24 Jeff SMITH – Eurotech Racing – +19.419s
25 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH – MG Racing RCIB Insurance – +27.750s
26 Tom INGRAM – Speedworks Motorsport – +33.920s
27 Josh PRICE – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing – +1 lap
NC James COLE – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing – +5 laps
DNF Aiden MOFFAT – Laser Tools Racing – +11 laps
DNF Josh COOK – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport – +15 laps
DNF Mat JACKSON – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
DNS Adam MORGAN – Ciceley Motorsport

Photo credit: btcc.net

©Fay Tilley 21st May 2017