Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s Ashley Sutton claimed his fifth victory of the season so far after taking the win in race two at Knockhill. The BMR driver enjoyed a race long battle with teammate Jason Plato to take the win.
At the first of the starts Plato got a great start with Sutton following as like in race one. Also Turkington and Collard stayed in the same positions. Unfortunately the race had to be red flagged after quite a few competitors came together. The main drivers officials were concerned for were Power Maxed Racing’s Senna Proctor and Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport’s Stephen Jelley after the two had a head on collision. Both drivers were taken to the medical centre for checkovers. Andrew Jordan and Josh Cook were unable to take the restart. Jordan was ruled out after requiring assistance to get out of the gravel trap he was pushed into whilst Cook’s damage was too severe and dangerous for him to continue.

When the race was restarted with all the eligible cars in their original grid spots ready to start. Once again the top four drivers got good starts. Speedwork’s Tom Ingram and Team BMR’s James Cole were instantly in a close battle following on fro their race one battle. Cole staying ahead in fifth.

Cole was helped when Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden began crawling all over the rear bumper of Ingram. Shedden soon made a move stick when he made a late lunge to pass Ingram into sixth. BTC Norlin Racing’s Dave Newsham later followed through to pass Neal and Ingram in one double overtake at the Hairpin. Ingram was all over the back of Newsham’s Chevrolet.

Eurotech Racing’s Jack Goff endured some avoidable damage when Taylor-Smith hit into the rear side of the Honda on the exit of the Hairpin, causing Goff to DNF.

Josh Price managed to find his way past Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Matt Neal as Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo’s Rory Butcher battled hard with Power Maxed Racing’s Tom Chilton for twelfth further back.

On lap eleven Ashley Sutton got a better drive out of the Hairpin at the end of the lap which allowed him to get past teammate Jason Plato into the lead of the race. On lap thirteen Neal managed to pass Price to retake ninth. On the following lap Sutton had opened up half a second gap over Plato.

Lap sixteen saw Matt Neal off into the gravel trap during his battle with Josh Price, the latter lived on to hunt down Ingram for eighth. Price managed to pass Ingram to relieve him of eighth before catching and passing Dave Newsham to take seventh.

Post race Josh Price was excluded from the results for overtaking or not slowing down under flag signals. This changes it from Rory Butcher being on pole to Ant Whorton-Eales.

Race Two Classification:
1) Ashley Sutton – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
2) Jason Plato – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
3) Colin Turkington – Team BMW
4) Rob Collard – Team BMW
5) James Cole – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
6) Gordon Shedden – Halfords Yuasa Racing
7) Dave Newsham – BTC Norlin Racing
8) Tom Ingram – Speedworks Motorsport
9) Rory Butcher – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
10) Ant Whorton-Eales – with Cobra Exhausts
11) Martin Depper – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
12) Tom Chilton – Power Maxed Racing
13) Matt Simpson – Simpson Racing
14) Chris Smiley – BTC Norlin Racing
15) Aiden Moffat – Laser Tools Racing
16) Mat Jackson – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
17) Michael Epps – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing
18) Brett Smith – Eurotech Racing
19) Ollie Jackson – with Cobra Exhausts
20) Will Burns – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing
21) Stewart Lines – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport.

DNF Matt Neal – Halfords Yuasa Racing
DNF – Aron Taylor Smith – MG Racing RCIB Insurance
DNF – Jack Goff – Eurotech Racing
DNF – Jake Hill – TAG Racing
DNF – Adam Morgan – Ciceley Motorsport
DNF – Stephen Jelley – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport
DNF – Rob Austin – Handy Motorsport
DNF – Senna Proctor – Power Maxed Racing
DNF – Josh Cook – MG Racing RCIB Insurance
DNF – Andrew Jordan – BMW Pirtek Racing

DSQ – Josh Price – A-Plan Academy


Photo Credit: LAT Images

© Fay Tilley 13th August 2017