Jason Plato claimed his first victory of the 2017 season at Knockhill after winning race one of the weekend. The Adrian Flux Subaru Racing driver led the race from the start after getting a great start with teammate Ashley Sutton following in second. Team BMW’s Colin Turkington followed behind in third with teammate Rob Collard in fourth making it four rear wheel drive cars occupying the top four.
On lap three of the race BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan made a quick move to pass by Eurotech Racing’s Jack Goff. Jason Plato had opened up a 0.5 second lead. The front running four cars began pulling away from Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram and Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s James Cole in fifth and sixth.

Adam Morgan made his move on Gordon Shedden ti take ninth place on the fifth lap of the race after Proctor pulled off a smart move on the Scotsman at the Hairpin allowed Morgan to follow through. Three laps later Shedden was having to hold off MG Racing RCIB Insurance’s Josh Cook as he looked to pass the Honda.

On lap nine there was a great battle ongoing between Tom Ingram and James Cole for fifth place, Ingram just managing to hold on to the position before Cole made his move stick on lap twelve.

The order on lap twelve; Plato, Sutton, Turkington, Collard, Cole, Ingram, Proctor, Newsham, Morgan, Shedden filling the top ten.

The two Halfords Yuasa Racing duo of Shedden and Matt Neal worked together on lap fourteen. Shedden lured Josh Cook in which enabled Neal to make the most of it and pass the unexpecting Cook to put the two Honda’s in P10 and P11. On the following lap Shedden allowed Neal to pass as the #25 car was lighter and faster as Shedden in the #52 was full of success ballast.

Lap seventeen saw Jason Plato have not a lot of gap between he and his teammate Sutton, the two began getting away from the chasing BMW duo.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin, Team Shreddeed Wheat Racing with Duo’s Butcher and Eurotech Racing’s Brett Smith attempted to go three wide into McIntyres which the latter found out does not work as he ended up finding himself in the gravel. The Honda driver managed to avoid the barriers and free himself from the gravel trap, albeit dropping a lap down.

Ciceley Motorsport’s Adam Morgan flew through past BTC Norlin Racing’s Dave Newsham to take eighth. Neal was unable to follow through

On the last lap of the race Sutton was let past Plato into the lead before Plato regained the lead to take the flag.

Race One Classification:
1) Jason Plato – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
2) Ashley Sutton – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
3) Colin Turkington – Team BMW
4) Rob Collard – Team BMW
5) James Cole – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
6) Tom Ingram – Speedworks Motorsport
7) Senna Proctor – Power Maxed Racing
8) Adam Morgan – Ciceley Motorsport
9) Matt Neal – Halfords Yuasa Racing
10) Dave Newsham – BTC Norlin Racing
11) Gordon Shedden – Halfords Yuasa Racing
12) Josh Cook – MG Racing RCIB Insurance
13) Andrew Jordan – BMW Pirtek Racing
14) Jack Goff – Eurotech Racing
15) Aron Taylor-Smith – MG Racing RCIB Insurance
16) Tom Chilton – Power Maxed Racing
17) Ant Whorton – AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts
18) Josh Price – A-Plan Academy
19) Chris Smiley – BTC Norlin Racing
20) Stephen Jelley – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport
21) Jake Hill – TAG Racing
22) Matt Simpson – Simpson Racing
23) Rob Austin – Handy Motorsport
24) Michael Epps – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing
25) Rory Butcher – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
26) Aiden Moffat – Laser Tools Racing
27) Martin Depper – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
28) Ollie Jackson – AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts
29) Will Burns – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing
30) Brett Smith – Eurotech Racing
DNF – Mat Jackson – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
DNF – Stewart Lines – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport


Photo credit: LAT Images

© Fay Tilley 13th August 2017